Kansas City Fed Launches National Small Business Lending Survey

April 5, 2018

The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City has launched a national quarterly Small Business Lending Survey (FR 2028D) that includes quantitative and qualitative data on credit market conditions for bank lending to small businesses across the country. The survey results provide detailed information on commercial banks’ lending activity and terms, and offers a snapshot of small businesses’ access to credit.

The Kansas City Fed’s survey takes the place of the Federal Reserve Board of Governors’ Survey of Terms of Business Lending (FR 2028A), which ended as of May 2017. Starting with this release, which covers the fourth quarter of 2017, the Kansas City Fed will publish results quarterly online.

The voluntary survey of lending institutions will collect information on commercial and industrial (C&I) loans not otherwise available and will track changes from quarter to quarter for loan amounts, interest rates, maturities, and lending terms for term loans and lines of credit with fixed and variable interest rates, and applications received and approved. In addition, the survey collects qualitative information on changes in credit standards, terms and loan demand, as well as reasons for those changes. In the survey, a small business loan is defined as a loan made to a firm with $5 million or less in annual gross revenue. This is an improvement from other small business lending data collections that use loan size to define a small business loan.

Results from the Fourth Quarter 2017 Survey are now available from the Kansas City Fed’s website. As more data becomes available over time and the survey panel grows, staff will be able to report on trends in small business lending and provide regional breakdowns on lending activity.

About the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

As the regional headquarters of the nation’s central bank, the Kansas City Fed and its branch offices in Denver, Oklahoma City and Omaha serve the seven states of the Tenth District: Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico and western Missouri.