FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE JAN. 09, 2019

CONTACT: Victoria Rosengarten victoria.rosengarten@kc.frb.org

KANSAS CITY FED ANNOUNCES 2019 DIRECTOR ELECTION RESULTS AND APPOINTMENTS

KANSAS CITY, MO. - The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City announced director election results and appointments to fill seats on its headquarters office and branch boards of directors. All appointments were effective Jan. 1, 2019.

Kansas City Directors

At the Kansas City headquarters office, **Brent A. Stewart, Sr.**, president and chief executive officer, United Way of Greater Kansas City, Kansas City, Missouri, was re-elected to a three-year term by Group 1 banks as a Class B director, representing the public. Stewart has served on the headquarters office Board of Directors since 2016.

<u>Kyle Heckman</u>, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Flatirons Bank, Boulder, Colorado, was elected to a three-year term by Group 2 banks as a Class A director, representing commercial banks that are members of the Federal Reserve System. Previously, Heckman was a member of the Bank's Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council.

In addition, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System appointed <u>Edmond Johnson</u>, president and owner, Premier Manufacturing, Inc., Frederick, Colorado, to a three-year term as a Class C director, representing the public. Johnson previously served on the Denver branch office Board of Directors since 2015. The Board of Governors also redesignated <u>Rose M. Washington</u>, chief executive officer, Tulsa Economic Development Corp., Tulsa, Oklahoma, as the Kansas City Fed board of directors' chair for 2019 and designated as deputy chair <u>Jim Farrell</u>, president and chief executive officer, Farmers National Co., Omaha, Nebraska.

Members of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City's head office Board of Directors represent the Tenth Federal Reserve District: Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico and western Missouri.

The Kansas City board consists of three directors who are bankers elected by commercial banks that are members of the Federal Reserve System, three who represent the public and are elected by member banks, and three who represent the public and are appointed by the Federal Reserve Board of

Governors in Washington. The authority of a Reserve Bank's board of directors is established by the Federal Reserve Act, which provides that the work of each Reserve Bank "shall be conducted under the supervision and control of a board of directors" and that directors "shall perform the duties usually appertaining to the office of directors of banking associations and all such duties as are prescribed by law." Directors meet monthly to confer on economic and banking developments and to advise the Bank on its operations and policies. The directors also are responsible for establishing the Bank's discount rate, subject to review and determination by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors.

Branch Directors

Each branch office board comprises seven directors, four of whom are appointed by the Kansas City Board of Directors. The remaining three are appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Branch directors meet to confer on economic and financial developments and business conditions. The following appointments were made to the branch boards of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2019.

At the Denver Branch:

- <u>Jacqueline Baca</u>, president, Bueno Foods, Albuquerque, New Mexico, was appointed to serve a three-year term by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. She previously was a member of the Bank's <u>Economic Advisory Council</u>.
- <u>Nicole Glaros</u>, chief investment strategy officer, Techstars, Boulder, Colorado, was
 appointed to serve a three-year term. She previously was a member of the Bank's <u>Economic</u>
 <u>Advisory Council</u>.
- <u>Katharine W. Winograd</u>, president, Central New Mexico Community College, Albuquerque New Mexico, reappointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System to serve a three-year term.

In addition, <u>Taryn Edwards</u>, senior vice president, Saunders Construction, Englewood, Colorado was designated Denver Branch board chair for 2019. Denver Branch directors represent Colorado, Wyoming and northern New Mexico.

At the Oklahoma City Branch:

• <u>J. Walter Duncan IV</u>, president, Duncan Oil Properties, Inc., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, was appointed to serve a three-year term.



NEWS RELEASE

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK of KANSAS CITY DENVER • OKLAHOMA CITY • OMAHA

• <u>Tina Patel</u>, chief financial officer, Promise Hotels, Inc., Tulsa, Oklahoma, was reappointed to serve a three year-term by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

In addition, <u>Clint D. Abernathy</u>, president, Abernathy Farms, Inc., Altus, Oklahoma, was redesignated Oklahoma City Branch board chair for 2019. Oklahoma City Branch directors represent the state of Oklahoma.

At the Omaha Branch:

- Zac Karpf, chief operating officer, Platte Valley Bank, Scottsbluff, Neb., was appointed to serve a three-year term.
- <u>Thomas J. Henning</u>, president and chief executive officer, Cash-Wa Distributing Co., Kearney, Neb., was reappointed to serve a three-year term.
- <u>Kimberly A. Russel</u>, president and chief executive officer, Bryan Health, Lincoln, Neb., was reappointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System to serve a three yearterm.

In addition, <u>Eric Butler</u>, retired executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha, Nebraska, was redesignated as Omaha Branch board chair for 2019. Omaha Branch directors represent the state of Nebraska.

Federal Advisory Council Member

The Federal Advisory Council is established by the Federal Reserve Act and includes one representative from each Federal Reserve District. Members meet four times per year in Washington and consult with and advise the Federal Reserve Board of Governors on all matters under the Board's jurisdiction.

<u>John B. Dicus</u>, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Capitol Federal, Topeka, Kansas, was appointed as the Kansas City Fed's representative to the Federal Advisory Council for 2019.

More information on the <u>role and structure of the Bank's Board of Directors</u> is available on the <u>Kansas City Fed's website</u>. As the regional headquarters of the nation's central bank, the Kansas City Fed and its branch offices in Denver, Oklahoma City and Omaha serve the seven states of the Tenth District: Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico and western Missouri.