

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE JUNE 13, 2019

MONEY MUSEUM TO OFFER HAMILTON EXPERIENCE FOR VISITORS

New display shares history of Alexander Hamilton's role in central banking

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI – The Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City invites the public to visit its Money Museum and temporary Alexander Hamilton display. The exhibit, "The Ten-Dollar Founding Father," explores Hamilton's contributions to the nation's central bank. The exhibit runs now through July 26 and admission is free for all ages.

The display includes infographic banners that detail the history of the central banking system and Hamilton's key role in establishing the nation's early financial infrastructure, including the <u>First Bank</u> of the United States.

Visitors can engage with interactive stations, such as:

- Dress up in colonial-style and capture a selfie with Hamilton during the signing of the U.S. Constitution.
- Take a photo as Hamilton on the modern \$10 bill.
- Examine historical, off-display currency featuring the founding father.
- Vote for your favorite version of the \$10 Hamilton bill.

Along with the Hamilton display, visitors can see the Truman Coin Collection, view the Bank's cash processing and vault, see \$40 million in cash, try their strength at lifting a 27 lb. gold bar, and receive a free, souvenir bag of shredded money.

The Kansas City <u>Money Museum</u> is a self-guided experience. Tours are available during the summer beginning at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., and 1:30 p.m. Tours are free to the public with no reservation. The museum averages 35,000 visitors a year.

The museum is located 1 Memorial Drive across from the National WWI Museum and Memorial. Hours are 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding Bank holidays. A government I.D. is required for visitors 18 and older. Visit <u>kansascityfed.org</u> for more information.

As the regional headquarters of the nation's central bank, the Kansas City Fed and its branch offices in Denver, Oklahoma City and Omaha serve the seven states of the Tenth District: Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico and western Missouri.